Skip to main content

League Information.

Clubs compete on a league basis of four matches evenly spread around as much as possible on a club strength and geographical basis. Trophies are awarded to the league champions as well as age groups. Medals are awarded to athletes of the match (boys and girls in both track and field events). In addition at the end of the season any record breakers are also awarded medals.

Helpful Links

League History

The Wessex Track and Field Young Athletes League was founded by John Lascelles back in 1989 as the Andover Doves league with just a handful of clubs. The first two years were Under 13 boys and girls and U15 boys, initially without U15 girls. Under 17 men and women joined the competition in 1993.
Renamed several times, to the National Grid league in 1995 and the Southern Electric League in 1998, as time went on the number of clubs competing slowly increased and the U11 & U20 categories were eventually added.
The competition has prospered, thanks to a dedicated group of enthusiasts, largely as a development competition for clubs, big and small in the “Wessex” area.

Former Athletes

A number of athletes who competed in our League have been very successful as senior athletes.
  • Ben East (Team Kennet) Javelin

  • Izzy Fry (Newbury AC) 5000m
  • Robert Tobin (Basingstoke) 400m
  • Sian Scott (Bournemouth) 300m
  • Hannah England (Oxford) 800m
  • Kelly Morgan (Salisbury) Javelin
  • Holly Mills (Andover) Long Jump
  • Morgan Lake (Slough Juniors) High Jump
  • Michael East (Portsmouth) 800m
  • Melissa Courtney (Poole AC) 1500m
  • Ben Pattison (Basingstoke) 800m
  • Nicholas Percy (Isle of Wight) Discus

Committee & Officers

To contact any league official please email [email protected]
Position Name and Affiliation
Vice President Nigel Harding (Poole AC)
Chairman Nick Bull (Team Kennet)
Vice Chair Laura White (Camberley)
Secretary Gary Sprake (SETAFA)
Treasurer Cheryl Angell (Team Kennet)
Quad Kids Co-ordinator Mo Cowx (Andover)
League Records / Results / Power of 10 Nigel Harding (Poole AC)
Welfare Officer Cheryl Angell (Team Kennet)
Website & League Tables Paul Moscrop (Sitetype Web Services)
League Coordinators Nick Bull (Team Kennet), Cheryl Angell (Team Kennet), Laura White (Camberley), Rachel Jones (New Forest), Andy Holme (Salisbury), Jo Breeds (Basingstoke)
Former chairmen John Lascelles (Andover), founded the league as “Doves League” in 1989.
Terry Prill (Havant) succeeded John around the mid 90s
Pete O’Keefe (Southampton City / Oxford City)
Tim Wilding (Southampton City / New Forest Juniors) took over from Pete around the late 90s
Nick Bull (Team Kennet, current chairman) took over from Tim in the mid 2000s.

Adopted EA Policies

The league have adopted the following policies from UKA & England Athletics

AGM Minutes

Find below the minutes of the Wessex League Annual General meetings.
We’re currently creating an archive of all AGM minutes from 2005 to view.

League Records

You can visit the league records page if you are interested to view records from all our age groups.
Stacy Son Athltics Stacy Son Athltics
League Letters & Numbers

Stationery Supplier for Letters & Numbers

Our supplier for league letters & numbers is Stacey & Son: Packs of 100 are available at a set amount for Wessex League Clubs. Use the website link below or call 01245 474322.
*For athletes competing in this league under UKA Rules: All entrants shall be deemed to have made himself/herself/themselves familiar with, and agree to be bound by the UKA Anti-Doping Rules and to submit to the authority of UK Anti-Doping in the application and enforcement of the Anti-Doping Rules. The UKA Anti-Doping Rules apply to entrants participating in the sport of Athletics for 12 months from the date of entry, whether or not the entrant is a citizen of, or resident in the UK.
Become a Wessex League Sponsor
We’re actively seeking dynamic partners to sponsor the Wessex League, offering a unique opportunity to support and engage with local sports communities while gaining wide exposure.